Hoarding Woes: Storage Locker Emptied!!!

We picked up the 20′ U-Haul truck at 7 a.m. The Team was waiting at the Hoarding House and from there, 5 strong (well, we all seem to have varying degrees of physical maladies) we headed to the storage locker. I unlocked the sliding door and raised it knowing the response I would receive. The sheer amount of boxes gives people pause, especially when they have busted their tails for the past 6 weeks to reduce such stuff. We started off with a burst in the early morning and before you knew it we had broken a sweat and filled the back of the truck. We transported the stuff to the house and proceeded to unload it.

In the early morning light, we unloaded the back of the truck with the plan to sort through each box and move the keepables to the back, and into the tent. The first load was pretty daunting to say the least and I was certain it would fill and over run the tent.

We attempted to stay disciplined to really inspect most of the boxes and sort out the good (resellable) from the donations, from the junk. A choke point resulted at times but we stayed true to this plan, figuring it will pay off in the long run. 

The first load out of the locker made considerable room. It was deceiving as I thought the first load had accounted for over half of the contents. I was wrong. The first load only accounted for one third of the contents.

This undertaking was truly grueling. The weather was mild and perfect, but the volume of boxes and the lifting and walking eventually took a toll on everyone’s body. Three truck loads later, the most amazing thing happened…a mile stone of sorts…

That's me sitting inside the empty storage locker. I owe it all to the Team. I could never have accomplished this move with out substantial help emptying the locker, filling the truck, emptying the truck, sorting all the boxes, filling the Tent, creating a mountain of garbage and a smaller mountain of donations for the Vets. Thank you Team!!!
The resultant pile of debris. It was hard to imagine there would be that much. The cardboard boxes need to be broken down.

It was a different type of stuff today than much of the other stuff we have found inside and outside the Hoarding House. This stuff had some unique pieces and the newspaper wrappings for much of the stuff interestingly dated back to the late 60’s, while my Aunt’s husband was still alive…he died in 1969. Had my Aunt already started accumulating stuff and it accelerated once her husband died?

One of  the most amazing aspects of todays 13 hour event was that all the kept stuff filled the tent with room left over!!!! I would not have believed it. The Team did an amazing job packing those boxes in high and tight.

The Tent after the first load. All that stuff you saw above down the side of the house went into that tent with room left as you see here. The next two loads also fit in there with some serious culling.
13 hours after we started the Tent was sealed up. Very thankful for the extraordinary help. Again, the cost of that storage locker over 10 years was sad. We won't recoup the almost $35,000 dollars in storage fees. But, I know my Aunt is pleased 'that damn storage locker' is no more.

Tomorrow morning another 20 yard drop box will be delivered and the garbage piled on high will be discarded. The poor driveway is destined to see turmoil for months to come, I suspect.  

6 thoughts on “Hoarding Woes: Storage Locker Emptied!!!

  1. annietiques

    Amazing, amazing day!!!! I am astonished at all that you and your team has accomplished!!!! Job well done!!

    Again, the sheer volume of stuff is mind-boggling………how on earth did this petite little woman acquire so darn much????

    I don’t know if you have thought about this; but there is a book in all of this, one that could help families, communities, and mental health professionals. When all is done and your body and spirit have recovered, please consider this……..

    1. Thank you Annie.There is a part to this whole thing, my mom included, that I don’t think I totally understand the history. I thought I did. But, yesterday changed that. I am not certain where all this stuff came from. It was different style/taste wise; it had more uniqueness to it. The volume of stuff is amazing and frankly now daunting as we compute the time it will take to sell it all let alone price/stage/advertise. Not ready to turn it over like I did with my mom’s. Thank you for the encouragement and advice.

      Gary

  2. Patty

    Have you thought about the toll this has taken on the neighbor? I think it is owed to the surrounding neighborhood to close up this situation as fast as possible even if it means not recouping as large of playback as possible.

    1. I certainly have….he is gone. I have individually talked to every neighbor and asked their input. All understand the sales are necessary. All, and I mean all, have expressed their appreciation for the intense cleanup effort. Given what I have put into it….all have put into it….the sales will take place and as quickly as possible to avoid the protracted circus of old. I get the impact.

  3. Nora

    With multiple sales planned for the storage unit “inventory,” i hope you will be able to find people & resources to give you advice on how to get through so much stuff. In your reply to a comment on this post, you mention pricing and staging for the sale. I wonder if it would be efficient to sell stuff in lots. For instance, you come across a 2 or 3-dozen coffee mugs, different designs, say. Box them in batches of 6 maybe, and sell the entire box for one price. I think you will get bogged down if you try to price everything individually. The more valuable stuff would have to be handled differently, of course.
    I remember hearing about a couple who bought a sea captain’s mansion in Maine decades ago. The story was that instead of opening all the trunks they found in the attic (the keys were long gone), they just auctioned them off unopened. That, of course, would be another way to sell the boxes from the storage unit. I myself couldn’t stand not knowing what was in them.
    Sorry to ramble on… You have done an amazing job so far. I wish you good health & continued success.

    1. Great advice. The storage unit is but maybe 1/8th of all the contents at the house. That was the hard part…bringing so much stuff to the house we have worked so hard to empty out…yet we literally have at least 8 storage lockers in volume if not more. Lots may be the way to go…we do need to move it and not hash out thousands of items. The treasures and vintage stuff is far away….although we will surely let a gem go now and then….Thank you Nora.

Leave a comment