Sunshine Award Brightens My Day (Month)

A little less than a month ago, I was blessed by Let’s Talk About Family with the very kind recognition of the Sunshine Award. This award is unique, I find, in that those that pass it on from others are all immensely loving and enduring in their daily struggles of caring for others. Their lives are filled with challenges, yet they look outward to acknowledge, to help, to encourage. Truly, I mean it, I am honored given the journey LetsTalkAboutFamily is taking. I am very sorry for the delay in acknowledging the bestowing of the award and I hope those I have pointed toward accept the admiration. 

Doesn’t that Daisy just brighten your mood?

Now, I judge from past examples I am suppose to share something about myself and then make a nomination or two for passing on this inspiring award. Borrowing from the example, I culled out a few questions to answer:

1. Which is your favorite genre of movies? (Comedy/Romance/Suspense/Action/Horror)? I like an assortment of movie styles, but I most enjoy movies from the 1940’s and in particular those darker, brooding, black and white types with Bogart, Bacall etc.

2. Which is the best vacation you’ve ever had? As far as a destination, that is a tough one. Alaska, Florida, Russia, Mexico, Canada, Christmas Island have all been spectacular and impressive. But, I have to reduce it down a bit to family camping trips (too many to recount) have been the best.

3. Which is your most cherished childhood memory? What kind of kid were you, naughty or nice? My childhood wasn’t particularly happy, but I most recall playing various sports or games in the neighborhood where nine boys resided. Late Summer evenings were occupied by playing games under the low hanging street light. This was eventually followed by the parents yelling at us that it was time to come inside…no doubt we were oblivious to our noise aggravating elders that needed rest. I was a pretty good kid. I loved sports. I was probably a little too consumed with the neighbor girls.

So, picking someone to honor with this award is not easy. There are many worthy of recognition (some I would nominate have already received this coveted award) for adding brightness to other’s lives. But, these are a few I would nominate:

Cindy’s Cancers Need I say more? Powerful stuff. Hospice. Breast cancer. Her journey. We all know someone. Many have lost someone…my mom…to some form of cancer. It touches us all. It scares us all. Cindy shares and provides courage to the rest of us. It is not an easy visit. She deserves the Sunshine Award, although she may not have the energy to enjoy it. Humbling.

PhotographyofNia Well, she has received this award before….several times I imagine. I nominate her again because of her joyous photography and the beautiful images she presents and because she is so generous with her love and kindness. 

 AllAboutLemon  If you can’t find something here to be brightened by then your ADD is getting the best of you. Look about and find something to be joyful about.

9 thoughts on “Sunshine Award Brightens My Day (Month)

  1. Congratulations. You deserve this award. I have just met your blog, but I know the other one and you know, it is so interesting and so enjoyable to be your follower on SwittersB… But this blog impressed me so much. You did great blog… I am so emotional one. I read with my heart. For your nice words and also for your nominating my blog, I am honored so much. Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

  2. Congratulations to you my dear, you well deserved this award 🙂 And Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely thought to nominate AllAboutLemon. I am truly honored and highly appreciate this from you.Keep on blogging and see you around!
    Dolly xoxo

  3. I was not only suprised to be recognized for my blog, but greatful to know that my life in some way will touch other people. I can’t thank you enough. I already know of a few others who also deserve this award for their blogs and I will be sure to pass it on.
    Sinserely, Cindy
    Cindy’s Cancers

  4. Pingback: Awards Acknowledgement – allaboutlemon

  5. Pingback: Time To Say Thank You « photographyofnia

Leave a comment