The Whore: Unredeemable, Spot On…….

If you are easily offended by profanity or harshness move on re this post. I have to write about ‘the whore’. I have repeatedly written about our experiences at the Spring/Summer/Fall Sales extravaganzas with the people who ventured up the driveway into our Hoarding Woes cleanup. Thousands came to peruse, buy or say thanks and move on. All but two were amazing in their kindness and respect toward us. It was a unique experience and it is, despite this post, what we have come away with and are blessed.

The Whore

However, the other two must be dispensed with for the sake of a learning experience and that vindication one wants when you know someone is an asshole, bite your tongue and take shit and wish you had kicked their sorry asses down the driveway….but you didn’t.

The lesser of the two evils: the thief…the mother using her young daughter as a shield to switch pricing labels. She only came once, taught us a lesson to speak up and got away with a fast one. 

Now for the most egregious of the two…’the whore’. It is just an unflattering nickname my wife arrived at out of anger. Repeatedly this woman came to the sales and brought with her rudeness, lies, attempts at switching prices, deceit and such profound arrogance that eventually it was agreed if she came up the driveway we would order her, yes not ask, order her off the property. The tag became so well known amongst the Team that we all knew who ‘the whore’, ‘that whore’ was without needing to verify. 

So recently my wife was researching businesses closing out and selling their tables or shelving and low and behold she came upon pictures of merchandise atop shelving (the shelving was for sale). My wife recognized several of the pieces as similar to pieces that we had once had but that ‘the whore’ bought. Yes the whore bought stuff but only after the most rude negotiations and only because no one wanted to make a seen and say ‘hey! take your money and get out of here’. There just didn’t seem like a nice way to boot her ass. Ok I digressed.

So, my wife dug in deeper into the owner of the shelving and low and behold there was ‘the whore’. Further digging revealed she had/has multiple complaints against her with Oregon DOJ as well as criminal complaints. She ripped off families all the time! ‘The Whore!!!’  

“I was so excited when I found some great old Cole Porter records, but the woman (the whore) behind the counter was not only less-than-helpful, she was also rude and condescending when I asked for the box with the records. She told me they weren’t priced yet, and when I asked when they would be, she told me I didn’t understand what she was saying. Really? Because my question seemed very relevant to her answer. I then made the effort to control my anger and ask nicely if I could leave my number so they could call me with information later, which in turn led her to act as if she was going out of her way to provide me with a card to write down my information and request for the price of the item after being sorted. I would most certainly think twice before going to this shop again, solely because of this unhelpful and irritatingly rude woman. I have honestly NEVER had a more insulting experience at a retail store in my life. So disappointing.” (Source Yelp…Online Reviews, July 2012)

“Owner (name redacted…you can use ‘the whore’) listed three pages of credentials titled “qualifications in brief”: 27 years as a professional appraiser; three retail antiques businesses she had owned; 29 years of estate liquidation services; affiliations with the American Society of Appraisers “Senior Grade Member” and three auctioneer associations; Portland Art Museum volunteer council member; Rotary International Central Eastside Portland Chapter fundraiser; and member of the Northwest Fraud Investigators Association.  Not obvious was the paper trail of lawsuits and complaints.  Since 2004, 16 clients have filed complaints against ‘the whore’ with the Oregon Department of Justice. Among them were people who claimed consigned property went missing or they had to pay to store unsold items or get them back.”The state alleges that (‘the whore’), operating over the years under 18 different business names, made false or misleading representations about the cost of her services; knowingly took advantage of customers’ inability to understand the agreement they entered; and failed to deliver services promised.” Source Oregon Live, 2011

Yes, there you have it. ‘The Whore’ was the appropriate nickname all along and aptly justified. I have no doubt that if she puts her name down for the estate sales there will be a come to Jesus moment in front of the house that I won’t want to miss. I know, I know…it will probably be anti-climactic but you never know. 

The sad thing is ‘the whore’ is still in business running two shops in the Pearl District. She has reportedly moved, to where I am not sure, but I bet we cross paths again. Predator drone strike coming.

5 thoughts on “The Whore: Unredeemable, Spot On…….

  1. I’m glad that you were able to confirm your suspicions. It’s too bad that no one has been able to truly stop her yet. Hard to imagine how you would do it anyway, but getting the word out about people like this helps.
    I also like the site redesign.

    1. Thank you! Yes, she is a roving predator. I believe she still has stuff pending so I didn’t go to specific at this point. there were some nice news videos that would be nice to post too, but beyond aggravating hell the out of us, we headed off her thievery several times. Why we continued to put up with her I’m not sure. One of the dangers of keeping the peace with others standing around I spose. Thanks for comment.

    1. Yes, and knowing her disposition it must have been very traumatic and immensely frustrating for the victims. With so many business names one would think they must be able to flag anything under her name at least at DOJ etc.

  2. Tish

    Oh my gosh! I say this not to minimize what you went through, but every time I run into someone like that (not often), I thank my lucky stars I’m not related to the person! How horrible! I will keep my fingers crossed that she stays away from the estate sales – she sounds like an incredibly miserable person.

Leave a Reply

