A Couple Sips of Water & A Gentle Smile

It has been a long day. My aunt is refusing food and begrudgingly sips water. Her spirits are good. She grabbed my face and pulled me near. Maybe she knew it was me or someone else long passed. No matter.

The Guardian Angel is working hard. I think my dear aunt is listening.

Her breathing is shallow and a bit labored. She wears a small smile. As she reaches her wobbly arms for the ceiling, she suddenly lets out a small chuckle. She says ‘Isn’t it funny you reach for something to grab and it isn’t even there?’ 

I am not certain what I am looking at. She isn’t over medicated. So, perhaps yes or perhaps no. She always surprises me, but perhaps the H word looms. Two days now in a partially withdrawn mode. Her pain is in control. I thank God I intervened on the move from a less than suitable place back to the love and comfort of the foster home she has resided at for   six + months.

Leave a Reply

