Hoarding Woes: Music To Her Ears

My aunt has spent a good portion of her life alone. The visits of my mom and the occasional chatting with neighbors was pretty much her life. She had no children. She never remarried after losing her husband. If you spend time with her, she is fairly shy and not given to much display of love or good times behavior. So today I received a cell phone pic of my aunt seated at the kitchen table with the lady who visits weekly and plays the guitar and sings in attempt to get the residents to join in. Apparently, my aunt decided to join in…a first…and the others did as well. Although she doesn’t look like she is belting out any lyrics (she appears to be uttering that oft repeated refrain..”Would someone take this damn belt off me?”), I am told she had a good time and was in a very happy mood this morning. Bless her, and the lady who works toward lifting their spirits with music.

Leave a Reply

