Hoarding Woes: Animals & Mom

I watched a Hoarders episode the other night involving a man hoarding/rescuing cats to such a degree that he was negligent in caring for them. Gruesome to watch. This morning I was watching some cop show and a commercial came on. My mood was tweaked big time as I listened then looked up at the commercial. I was taken back to my mom, in our home, in the final stages of hospice care. My stoic mom. My tough mom. She had a soft spot for animals, particularly abused animals. This commercial would cause her to sob. She didn’t try to hide it. She had a thing for defenseless animals. I recently remarked that I was thankful my mom was not a hoarder of cats (or, dogs), but I am thankful I glimpsed that side of her. I vividly remember her story of watching her father dump litters of kittens into a stream when she was a young girl. She was a loving lady, she just could not always show it. She did when this commercial aired. 

Our sweet Emma Louise (SwittersB)
Leave a Reply

