Hoarding Woes: A Flat of Red Geraniums

A beautiful day. A Happy God Mother’s day card, a flat of geraniums, a couple bags of potting soil and some blue salvia. Also, two pair of pruning shears were presented. The gardening supplies were immensely appreciated. The greeting card was a different matter.

My aunt has never had children. She is my godmother, so I imagined it would be a fun play on words to give the card for Mother’s Day weekend. Actually, the card was so overwhelming to her, that she started shaking and was speechless. She said it was the most important card she could remember receiving since her husband had passed (45 years ago). I was surprised by the response and it added great joy to the whole presentation.

In the end, it was a nice pick me up from the last several days of darker thinking. We had a great visit and I left my aunt with anticipation for the next dry day…..when will that be in Portland?  

Leave a Reply

